This project is read-only.

### Wake Computer From Standby ###

Sep 21, 2008 at 12:10 AM
Hi, Im new to this and sorry if this is a stupid question...

I have got the computer to sleep with the 'Power Manager' tool, and don't know how to got the computer to automatically wake up at a certain time. Is there a way of getting the computer to automatically wake up at a specified time?

Hope so... I need it for my computer alarm clock...

Thankyou,
fish,
Oct 14, 2008 at 10:46 PM

I think you could do what you want using either of the following:

• BIOS Configuration Settings
  • Task Scheduler (a component of Windows)

BIOS Configuration Settings

You should be able to go into your computer's BIOS and find a submenu that deals with Power Management.  In that submenu you should be able to specify things like how deeply the computer sleeps when it goes to sleep - it should have states like S1, S3 and S5.  You may also find descriptions using acronyms STR (Suspend To RAM) & POS (Power On Standby).  In addition, you may have the option of specifying HOW you want power management handled (i.e. using the older "APM" or the newer "ACPI").

Anyway, there may be an option that allows you to wake the computer at a scheduled time - either everyday, on weekdays, or on one particular day per month.

Task Scheduler

Using the Windows Task Scheduler, you should be able to create a task that specifies the option "Wake the Computer to run this task".

To get to it:

Under Windows XP:
Start | All Programs | Accessories | System Tools | Scheduled Tasks

Under Windows Vista (a couple of different ways):
Start | Administrative Tools | Task Scheduler
Start | All Programs | Accessories | System Tools | Task Scheduler

Once in the Task Scheduler application, do the following:

1. Create a new task & give it a name & description
  2. Indicate that you want it to run daily at your chosen time